‘Blood Family’ Preview ~ Chapter Four

The countdown to all-hell-breaks-loose has begun. Daniel is still an average teen; indolent, rebellious, taking a back seat from life. He has friends, like Pearce, who know him only as the lax-limbed son of the local pastor. Daniel knows something is going on with his father. He will soon find out what is brewing within himself.

CHAPTER 4

“I’m telling you, Pearce. It was weird.”

Daniel lay on his bed with his dented-but-functioning cellular phone sandwiched between his ear and a propped pillow. The TV on the dresser opposite was flickering out a rerun of The Munsters with the sound turned down.

“God,” Pearce reacted, mouth stuffed full of takeaway hamburger. “Walking in on a bunch of priests. I’d freak. But I guess you’re used to that.”

“I’m not. Dad’s never had a preacher party like that before, not in this house. And get this: they’ll be having it here every month from now on.”

“With the creepy old guy?”

“I dunno,” Dan said after a shudder, hand recalling the elder pastor’s grip. “Probably. Shit, I hope not.”

“So what do they talk about?”

“Sermons and shit.”

“Yeah, God stuff…”

“Not just that. I overheard my Dad a few weeks back. He wants to open a new church or something. Or a new branch of the church. I think that’s what they’re organizing. As if I don’t have enough grief. So, Pearcey, you going out later?”

“What—tonight?”

“No, not tonight. It’s too late now. Dad would have my nuts for fuzzy dice. Tomorrow night. You know, just to hang out somewhere. A few cans, a few joints.”

“Cool. You bringing Daelin?”

“I’d sure like to,” Daniel said, and he meant it. He nostrilled out a long sigh. “But…Daelin’s been acting kind of weird lately. I don’t know where I stand with her at the moment.”

“Women. I can’t make sense of them, either, man. But hey, Danno, at least you’ve got one.” Daniel could hear his friend choke down another chunk of hamburger. The burgermeister is what they called him, and not because of his Germanic ancestry. Daniel had always said that Pearce would K.O. his heart before he was twenty-one if didn’t reign in his appetite for greasy foods.  “So, what you doing now?”

“Kicking back, watching Munsters.”

“Shit, dude, Munsters again? You live for that old stuff. Even when we were kids you used to think you were that fanged little brat, Eddie.”

“No way.”

“Ya huh! Every Halloween you were Eddie Munster. He was your idol. It’s like you identified with him or something.”

“Whatever. Okay—my battery’s gonna kick. Catch you tomorrow?”

“Yeah, catch you then.”

                                        

Leave a Reply

